Driving Safety Course
Juveniles Warrants

 

Kermit C. Morrison, Judge

Geralyn Mingo, Court Clerk/ Administrator

Jesse Branick, City Prosecutor

(409)983-8686


The City of Port Arthur Municipal Court has the responsibility for all Class C complaints and tickets, docketing and processing charges filed by citizens, law enforcement personnel and the Cityís animal/ environmental officers within the corporate limits of the City of Port Arthur.

.  The Municipal Court Clerk and staff process traffic and parking citations, issue summons and arrest warrants as provided by the Judge.  The clerk and staff reports traffic convictions to the Texas Department of Public Safety, accepts payment of fines for certain offenses as authorized by the Judge, accepts appearance bonds from persons charged with offenses and maintains accurate records.   The Clerk and staff also schedule cases for hearing and prepare daily dockets.

 

Court Hours:

Court Sessions:

Mon.-Wed.- Fri. 
8:00 A.M. til 5:00 P.M.

Tues.-Thurs.
8:00 A.M. til 7:00 P.M.

Monday - Thursday @  1:30 P.M.

The Port Arthur Municipal Court is located inside the
Port Arthur Police Station at 645 4th Street, Port Arthur, TX.

Mailing Address:
City of Port Arthur Municipal Court
P.O. Box 1089
Port Arthur, TX  77641-1089

Driving Safety Courses

If you have been charged with a moving violation, you may be eligible to attend a Driving Safety Course for the dismissal of that citation. A driving safety course is six hours in length and must be approved by the Texas Central Education Agency.

If you wish to take a Defensive Driving Course to have one moving violation removed you must first come in and request it from the court, pay court cost, present a valid Texas Drivers License and valid insurance.

***** If you are charged with speeding 25 miles or more per hour over the posted limit or passing a school bus, you are not eligible to attend a Driving Safety Course.

YOU ARE ELIGIBLE IF:

You have not completed a Driving Safety Course for the dismissal of ticket within the past 12 months from the date of your citation; You have a valid Texas Driver's License; You have proof of liability insurance or financial responsibility; You make an appearance at the court or mail in a request to attend a driving safety course on or before the appearance date on the citation (within fourteen days of issuance); and You must not currently be signed up to attend a driving safety course for dismissal of another citation.

IN ADDITION:

You will be required to pay the applicable court costs of $61.25 at the time you request to attend the Driving Safety Course, and You will be required to order a copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety, (There is a $10 charge payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety to obtain a copy of your record.) We will provide you with an order form.

You do not have to see a Judge to request to attend a Driving Safety Course. You may appear at the Cashier Window during our office hours to make your request.

You have 90 days to complete the driving safety course and 120 days to return to the court with an official driving safety course certificate and a copy of your driving record. Failure to return the required proof may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest and the imposition of a fine, court costs, and warrant fees.


Back to top of page

Juveniles

A juvenile is someone who is under the age 17.

A juvenile has to appear before the judge and must be accompanied by a parent or guardian at their given court appearance date and time.

All juveniles that Fail To Appear will be reported to the Department of Public Safety and will have their driverís license suspended or if they do not have one they will be unable to receive one until all cases pending in this court have been disposed of.

Back to top of page

Warrants

Anyone over 17 years of age and older are eligible to receive a warrant for failing to appear in court on their given court appearance date and for not paying fines or following any orders given to you by the judge.

Warrants are classified as followed a regular warrant or a capias pro fine.

A regular warrant is issued to those who Fail To Appear on their given appearance date.

To remove a Failure to Appear warrant:
 You must post a $100 cash bond on each separate citation here at the court unless arrested on warrants by a police officer, then you must handle all bond amounts through the county jail.

A capias pro fine is a warrant that you have appeared in court on but failed to maintain the terms of the order given to you by the judge.

To remove a capias pro fine:  
If your fines equal less than $500 you must pay the full amount to remove warrant and if your fines equal more than $500 you must pay half of the amount to remove warrants and receive an agreeable payment arrangement.

Back to top of page

For more information contact:

City of Port Arthur Municipal Court
645 4th Street
P.O. Box 1089
Port Arthur, TX  77641-1089
(409)983-8686

Back to the PAPD Home Page